Wii Fit Yoga and Combining Exercises

Often while doing Wii Fit yoga, you will see a message that encourages you to combine a yoga pose with another activity. At first, I thought this meant you could do two yoga poses back to back. The only problem was that I could not figure out how to make that happen.

When I saw the same question on my earlier Wii Fit Yoga post, I decided to investigate.

Today, after I finished the warrior pose, a message popped up saying that I should combine the Warrior pose with the lunge. I kept thinking the lunge was a type of yoga pose, perhaps one I hadn’t unlocked.

However, the lunge is in located in the strength training category. The lunge and the warrior pose work on the same areas, so therefore your trainer lets you know they are good exercises to do together.  This is good to know, however, I wish the Wii Fit provided a way to make this happen without having to go back to the main menu.

All in all, I do enjoy knowing which strength training exercises and yoga poses are nice combinations. It’s something I had not thought about until now.

 

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shannon said,

    I am sooo disappointed to hear this. I got my Wii fit last night. And I was so excited when I woke-up this morning to create my own yoga and strength training regimes. But I could not figure out how to do it. Now you tell me it cannot be done. Very disappointing!

  2. 2

    matt said,

    Why even tell you if you are not going to provide this option. I am totally diappointed

  3. 3

    Rebecca said,

    have to admit it is the biggest disapointment because you have to keep stopping to change the exercise. they should offer it in favorites

  4. 4

    wiiscoop said,

    I agree 100 %…I hate that you have to keep stopping to change exercrcises. What were they thinking?

  5. 5

    No, No, NO!!! After a week with my Wii Fit, I’m definitely feeling results; but am SO Frustrated by not being able to do several poses in succession. I’ve pushed every button on the remote trying to get it to go from the pose I’ve completed to the one it says makes a good complement. I’m SO MAD to find out this isn’t possible! I’d also love to be able to skip over the ranking section, so I can keep my burn going. I try to keep moving while on the platform between exercises, but that often sets off the warning to use other objects or people to help stabilize yourself.

  6. 6

    Tracy said,

    I completely agree. I found this blog because I was searching for a way to combine exercises without going back to the menu each time. I’m also disappointed it can’y be dpne!

  7. 7

    wiiscoop said,

    Hi everyone!

    Thank you for posting! 🙂

    I can relate to you what you’re saying–as good as the Wii is, there SHOULD be a way to do various exercises together (especially when it is telling you which ones are a good ‘fit’)!

    I do enjoy other parts of the Wii Fit, but wish they would have done this particular part differently.

    Thank you, everyone, for posting, I started this blog as a hobby, and didn’t realize how many people I had the Wii Fit and the Wii in common with! 🙂

  8. 8

    Tinkany said,

    Soooo… now we know the problem what is being done to address it? If this is something that everyone wants Wii programmers need to come up with an update that allows us to do so. Anyone know if this is going to happen?

  9. 9

    Sandilee said,

    I love my wii fit, but in over a year of using it I find that while doing the YOGA I get a message telling me why not combine Yoga poses, but there is NO WAY to combine yoga poses in fact there is no way to reach the top yoga poses like LUNGES. Does anyone out there know how to get to these other poses?

  10. 10

    lillyMilly said,

    does any1 kno if they added this feature 2 wii fit plus? Or any reviews on it in comparison?

    • 11

      Mary H said,

      LillyMilly,

      By now you may already know that Wii Fit Plus has added the capability to define a whole set of exercises that you do one after another without having to stop. You pick the exercises in whatever order you want and can change the number of exercised, the excercises you pick or their order any time you want between sessions.
      There are a couple of caveats. You can only pick from the Yoga and Strength exercises, not the Aerobics or Balance exercises. And any exercise you pick will be at the basic, not the advanced level (10 side leg lifts, not 20). Both of those restrictions are a little annoying, but the advantage of being able to complete a whole set of exercises in a compact amount of time far outweighs the disadvantage.
      The other difference is that to make the timing more compact, you don’t get any scoring information for each individual exercise. You only get an overall assess at the end, which from my experience has 4 levels: “Good job” “You’re very flexible” “You’re a little shaky” or “You’re very shaky”. Each of those comments have some more words added at the end, such as “keep practicing…”. The only disadvantage of this is that if you get a “You’re a little shaky” you don’t know which exercise(s) brought the general assessment down (although you can tell generally by how well you kept your balance inside the yellow area, etc). I have put together a 35 minute program with 19 excercises that I use every day. I get it done in much less time than they would take otherwise, and I can’t skip an exercise that is a little harder because I don’t feel like it. I can do other exercises before or after “My Routine” to round things out. I like many of the exercises that were added for Wii Fit Plus, but the My Routine feature is the best thing about it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

