Nintendo Wii Search: Day 1

The Nintendo Wii continues to be a hard to find item in the United States and beyond.

My search for the Nintendo Wii console involved many phone calls, web surfing, and talking with local game store employees.

After days of researching, I spoke with a very helpful GameStop employee on a Saturday afternoon.  He informed me that they were indeed expecting a shipment of Wii consoles over next week. He also mentioned that their daily shipments arrive around noon.

I took this helpful information, and formed my game plan. Here is what happened over the next week of my intense GameStop “please have a Wii come in today” search:

Day 1, Monday:

7:30 AM:  Drove by GameStop at and did not see anyone out in front of the store. I knew at that moment that sometime that week, I would obtain one of the Wii consoles from that store. I just had a feeling…though that feeling had been wrong in the past!

9:00 AM:  GameStop opens. The store manager kindly let me wait inside of the store, as it was a chilly 32 degrees outside. He was extremely polite, and we had fun conversations about the Wii and video games in general while I waited…for three hours.

9:30 AM:  People started coming in every five to ten minutes asking if they have any Wii’s in stock. As they heard the news that there may be a shipment of Will consoles coming to GameStop, some left saying they’d come back later. A few people decide to wait with me, and that’s when I got a little nervous. I didn’t want to get in the middle of any mad dashes like you often hear about.

9:45 AM:  I asked the store manager if I could create a list, so that the people that were going to wait for three hours would have the first chances to purchase the Wii console.

10:00 AM:  Our newly created list of those who were waiting it out in the store now has ten people on it.

11:30 AM:  The list now stands at 20 people, all in the store! It was crowded, but the excitement was building.

12:00 PM:  Delivery time! Everyone held their breath as the delivery was pushed to the back.

12:03 PM:  No Wii systems today. None. Nada. Zero. Zilch. Sigh…

12:05 PM:  Decided to come back and do it all over again on Tuesday

Coming up next:  My Nintendo Wii Search, Day Two…

Feel free to post your own Wii search experiences and tips in the comment section!

Leave a Reply

