Wii Scoop Blog Review: Wii Fit Running

Hello!

As I was exploring all of the unbelievable features of the Wii Fit, I tried out the Wii Running game, located in the Aerobics category.  This exercise is available right when you first start the game, and you can increase the time, difficulty, and scenery the more you play.

Now, I’m not in the best of shape, but I’m  aiming to get there! I was a little nervous about the running part.  But I didn’t have to be nervous at all! It was so much fun…almost like I was a character in the video game. Let me explain:

First, you can move the Wii Fit board out of the way. Then, put your shoes on–I used my walking/running shoes. Nintendo suggests you remove shoes and socks when using the board. However, for the running exercise, I took away the board,  and had my entire living room space, as you do not need the board for this exercise.  Plus, I think it’s much easier on the joints to have shoes on (or maybe I’m just getting old, lol).  🙂 

Just be sure to take your shoes and socks off when you want to play any other Wii Fit games.

Second,  I was given instructions to run in place and to follow the Wii guide.  I jogged in place, and as I did, my Wii ran ahead.  My Wii guide would look back and wave, and off we went running throughout some beautiful places on the Wii Fit Island. Other Wii’s joined us, including those from our own Wii family.  Also, there were lots of dogs running along with us.

Speaking of dogs….

Thanks to a helpful comment from someone here on the WiiScoop Blog, I learned that when the dog passes you, if you run past your instructor and follow the dog, you’ll go on an entirely different path! The first time I tried this, I tripped and fell flat on my face. My guide told me it was because I was not keeping an even pace.  Once my pace evened out, and I passed the guide, the dog led me on a new path. It was a lot of fun, and helped break up the routine. 

The Wii Fit running game will tell you if you are running at an uneven pace, or going too fast, as mentioned above. It encourages you do to all of the things we know we should be doing, but that are easy to forget.  Sure enough, at the end of the race, I received a reminder that read,  “Don’t push yourself too hard!”

Being on Day 1, I really appreciated the reminder. It’s hard not to go overboard when you are so excited about making healthy changes in your life, and getting fit.  However, the Wii Fit makes it possible to keep you in check, so to speak, but in a friendly, non-angry gym instructor kinda way.

I can’t wait to see the tips I receive as I graduate to more advanced levels. Perhaps I’ll get to a level that will have the Wii guides and dogs following me!  J

Two final tips about the Wii Fit running game

1.     Wii Fit Running has a two player option. Details coming soon!

2.       Here are some of the places you’ll visit as you do a virtual/realistic run on the Wii Fit Island:

  • Summit Lake
  • Rocky Peak
  • Summit Falls
  • Crystal River
  • Windmill Hill
  • Seagull Point
  • Mountain Tunnel
  • White Sand Beach
  • Camel Rock
  • Harbor Bridge

 

 

I know it will take more than 20-30 minutes on the Wii to reach my personal fitness goals, but it’s given me a great start. I even tried Yoga for the first time…and you’ll hear all about that on tomorrow’s blog!

Coming up this weekend:  Reviews of the Wii Fit Ski Salome, Table Tilt, Soccer Heading, and more…

What are your experiences with Wii Fit? Post your thoughts in the comment section below!

 

 

 

33 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    Allison said,

    I have done Wiifit for 4 days now and have already noticed an improvement in my posture and core strength. As a runner, i usually forget to do any upper body strengthening or stretching. The WiiFit is a great way to add fun into my usual routine. I would not recommend that it be used as one’s sole exercise program, unless that person is starting from 0 exercise. It also touches my competative side as well, as my husband and I battle each other during the 2P run.

  2. 3

    scott said,

    I am also thinking about picking one up. How is the progress now?

  3. 4

    wiiscoop said,

    Hi Scott!

    The progress is going great. Of course, our dog thinks that the Wii Fit Balance Board is out to attack us…so that’s been a challenge.

    I wonder if I get ‘extra credit’ for using the Wii Fit and keeping a wild dog at bay? 🙂

    I wrote another post about a new feature with the Wii Fit Running:

    https://wiiscoop.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/new-feature-unlocked-on-wii-fit-running-free-run/

    This has been a great feature that I often use when watching TV.

    Again, not as great as the track or treadmill, but used in combination with those, I think it’s a great feature.

    If you need any extra help finding the Wii Fit (or the Wii if anyone else is looking), here is another post I wrote about two helpful websites:

    https://wiiscoop.wordpress.com/category/wii-finder-tips/

    Thanks for posting your comment! I’ll be updating my blog this weekend. I hope you are having a good weekend!

  4. 5

    Kit & Boo said,

    My niece and I love we fit. She especially loved the running. Thanks for the tip about the dog. We only had our we for two weeks. How do you set up the second runner?

  5. 6

    wiiscoop said,

    Hi Kit & Boo!

    The 2 player running feature will become unlocked during the course of your ‘training’. If you click on the aerobics menu, it will be directly below the first 1player run feature.

    Also, free run is coming up for you guys, and I bet your niece will love that! I know I do, lol!

    Be sure that when you start up your Wii, you have two remotes turned on to take advantage of the 2 player run once it’s unlocked.

    Have fun!

    Let me know if you have any problems!

  6. 7

    Charles said,

    I use Wii Fit running with my boys (5) and (7) yr old every morning for the last week. We have it setup in a workout room with a TV in front of a treadmill. It really works well that way and is more realistic than running in place.

  7. 8

    wiiscoop said,

    Hi Charles!

    Thank you for posting your comment!

    I think having the treadmill in front of the TV is a perfect fit, no pun intended, for the Wii Fit.

    What other games do you guys like on the Wii?

  8. 9

    Bev. said,

    I was happy to get the tip about the dog. I did it once accidently and was thrilled, but didn’t make the connection. My question is……..is there a way to really explore the island? It would be cool if you could choose your own route! I once found myself running through the surf and I loved it! I can’t figure out how to make it happen again. Any tips would be appreciated.

    • 10

      Marilyn said,

      If you do the bicycle in the fitness plus section you can ride anywhere and explore the island. You may need to sneek by a fence or two!

  9. 11

    Here’s my take: “The Top 10 Reasons to Train for a Marathon on a Wii Fit.” http://tinyurl.com/a9yaf3

  10. 12

    Nintendo luver said,

    If any1 could tell me how to get to the Camel Rock and White Sand Beach, that would be great.

  11. 13

    Bev. said,

    One day I got to the beach……..but have no clue how I got there!! I’m so frustrated! It was wonderful! I was running through the surf! I LOVED it!! How do I get back there??

  12. 14

    Bev. said,

    I just ran on the beach!!! Wahoo! I’m home from school today due to foul weather, and I was DETERMINED to figure it out!! I found a lot of sites that gave tips that didn’t work, but then I found one that DID work. Choose “Basic Run” and then under activity level, choose “Distance: Island Lap”. Now, when you start, a dog will pass you. Let him go. Keep following your guide onto the bridge. Then about half way across the bridge, a little brown dog will pass you. FOLLOW HIM! This is the BEACH doggy!! Don’t let him out of your sites and near the end of an approximate 8 minute jog, you will be running through the surf!!

    • 15

      Ann said,

      Bev, thanks for the details about finding the surf run in Wii Fit Basic Run. I have heard about it and couldn’t find it. I now wonder if Wii Fit Plus – Basic Run Plus will have the same run…Thanks again!

  13. 16

    Coo said,

    To get to the beach, follow the second dog that barks and passes you. The dog will take you through the cave and eventually down to the beach.

    Does anyone know how to get to the rocky peak?

  14. 17

    […] Wii News and Reviews. This blogger reviews several of the Wii Fit exercises such as yoga, running, and skiing. In addition to providing basic information about each, she also offers some helpful suggestions and tips. […]

  15. 18

    O'Neal said,

    Ya. I’ve been on Wii Fit for quite a while. I’m in good shape for my age and Wii Fit games are still sometimes hard to me. I play football so I try to do a lot of the strength training. I usually do weights with my team, but on my free time I do Wii Fit. It’s funny because once you do the strength challenges so many times the trainer never gives up and you are just fighting against your body limits to see how you can do. My best time on the planks was 140 seconds! I know that there are plenty of people that can beat that, but on Wii Fit you just gotta be proud of what you can do and not what everyone else can. I hope everyone has fun with Wii Fit. I also hope that all of you hit your goals.

  16. 19

    pooya said,

    hey
    i found ur blog accidentally through my searches for wii fit

    i am a MSc student of sport at Shiraz University, Iran and i wanna do my thesis with wii fit and threadmill. i 1st saw nintendo wii in an aerobics class here, i really enjoyed wii-mote. i have some questions:

    can i buy wii and the game-CD [wii fit running] without buying the wii-fit PAD? or should i buy that too in order to run the game?

    can i use the game on a threadmill, i mean putting the wii-mote on my pocket, running on the threadmill and receiving positive feedback out of the game?

    can i increase the running time / distance by myself? or should i only complete the sessions the program offers me?

    i will wait 4 ur reply
    thank you

  17. 20

    Thanks so much! We appreciate it! My sister and I have always wondered how to get on the giant bridge by Summit Lake. We aren’t sure if it takes us there on the Island Lap, buy we will try!

  18. 22

    Raven said,

    When your on the running path and you see the super mario characters, can we get to those? or is that just sumthing else to look at? it says in the guide/map to keep your eyes open for them but not if they do anything!? HELP!!

    • 23

      wiiscoop said,

      Hi Raven!

      I think it’s just to look at and to see if you can find them. So far, I’ve found Mario and Luigi. Have you found any others? 🙂

      • 24

        Foszz said,

        I’ve been watching my wife run and have seen Mario on the right side of the bridge and on the left side in a canyon between a tree and a tunnel. I have not seen Luigi, where is he at? Has anyone mapped out the “Now Follow the Dog” points to their final destinations? Thanks All!

  19. 25

    Beccy said,

    Cool – thanks for the tips!
    I can’t wait to go to the beach tomorrow.

    I found the yoga invaluable on my first week of stopping smoking (cold turkey). 10 months later and still ciggy-free!

  20. 26

    SImplySAne said,

    Marylin, the Island Cycling option won’t let you go quite anywhere, I find that even once i get to the maximum level it still won’t let me go some areas. I really had my hopes up for that, so i was pretty disapointed when i found i couldn’t go those areas I was looking forward to. There are less fences as you progress through the three levels, but unfortunately, they never completely disappear. At least you can still choose your own paths, mostly 😉

  21. 27

    Keep at it! The Wii Fit made me the man I am today!

  22. 28

    Runner said,

    I know this is an old blog, but I’ve been running on the Wii, and I have ran 2 miles in 9 minutes. I sometimes thing theres something wrong with the Wii, or I’m shaking it too much! The clothes I workout in doesn’t have a pocket, so I hold it in my hand, plus I tried it with a hoodie once, and put it in the hoodies pocket, and I was running fast and the results on screen looked as if I was walking!

  23. 29

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog audience have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  24. 30

    This really is the third blog post, of your blog I actually read through.
    And yet I actually like this specific 1, “Wii Scoop Blog Review: Wii Fit Running Wii News and
    Reviews” the most. Take care -Sherri

  25. 31

    AIR JORDAN said,

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this topic to be actually something which I think
    I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to
    get the hang of it!

  26. 32

    Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff
    from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this blog.

  27. 33

    blue said,

    You *can* use an exercise machine to use it with wii fit.
    We have an eliptical at home. If you just rubberband the wii remote to it, you can make the game ‘think’ you’re running. And if you move theremote up or down (compared to where the arm is hinged) and this fools the game into thinking youre running fast or slow. So you can make workout ‘tailorable’


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

